New MSC codes alloted to Idea, Telenor, Aircel and Airtel

The department of telecommunications allocates from time to time new set of MSC codes to operators in certain circles where the operators meet certain qualifying criteria of subscriber base.

Department-of-TelecommunicationIndian Mobile numbers have 10 digits with AB-XYZ-OOOOO format where AB- the access code, XYZ- MSC Code and OOOOO is the subscriber number. First five digits are allotted time to time by DoT to all mobile operators. Generally a set of 10 MSC codes are allotted to a mobile operator.

DOT has assigned new MSC codes to Idea cellular and Telenor India for crossing 1 million new subscribers in Bihar circle and to Aircel and Bharti Airtel for crossing 1 million new subscribers in Andhra Pradesh circle.

The details of the MSC codes allotted are given in the table below:

Mobile Operator Telecom Circle MSC codes assigned
Idea cellular Bihar 73220, 73228-73230, 73238-73240, 73248-73250
Telenor India Bihar 90600-90609
Aircel Andhra Pradesh 73289, 73290,73298-73305
Bharti Airtel Andhra Pradesh 73306-73309, 73311, 73370, 73372-73375

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *